Old 05-03-2010, 09:14 AM   #1
I Leech Bots

 
Joined: Nov 2009
Thanked 0 Times
Reputation: 0
Default Bing Spyware?


this is interesting...

I'm not logged into the bing toolbar and yet I see this with my netstat command

TCP computername:2144 prizes.searchtrialprogram.com:http ESTABLISHED
TCP computername:2177 prizes.searchtrialprogram.com:http ESTABLISHED

going to www.searchtrialprogram.com just shows a blank page. however, going to http://prizes.searchtrialprogram.com shows the front page of club bing. Anyone know what's up with this/have it on their pc also, or is it just more baseless fears about the sudden rash of flagging? on prizes lately?

haven't been on the site for about 3-4 days now or botting since i'm busy/kinda depressed nothing is shipping

maskedwolfpup is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 09:24 AM   #2
Captain
 
Anthony's Avatar

 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Jersey
Thanked 27 Times
Reputation: 14
Default

Well first off, I'm assuming that you agreed to install the Bing toolbar? I believe that someone on the site actually read through the user agreement and it included something about taking certain info for research or whatever it may be. Regardless, I didn't install it. Hope this helps.
__________________
Selling $5 BestBuy giftcard. Buying any sporting goods GC.
Anthony is online now  
Old 05-03-2010, 09:26 AM   #3
I Leech Bots

 
Joined: Nov 2009
Thanked 0 Times
Reputation: 0
Default

yes I did install the toolbar. Oddly enough, I dug around online a bit and found this:

http://www.winonatong.com/archives/2..._trial_pro.php

Why are they using old urls for a ancient search program? (click on the screen shots and see the ancient prizes offered)
maskedwolfpup is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 09:31 AM   #4
Captain
 
Anthony's Avatar

 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Jersey
Thanked 27 Times
Reputation: 14
Default

I don't know, but like I said someone read over the user agreement and noticed a disclaimer about taking specific information out of your computer for research. As for why they are using old urls, could it be possible that they are merely trying to build a database of what people search up or things like that? Bing has their own search engine and they are probably trying to find some information on what we the users normally do online.
__________________
Selling $5 BestBuy giftcard. Buying any sporting goods GC.
Anthony is online now  
Closed Thread

Tags
bing, spyware

Thread Tools
Display Modes